Under the Queen’s Umbrella

Under the Queen’s Umbrella: Cast, Synopsis, Trivia

the queen's umbrella official poster cast synopsis

General Information

  • International Title: Under the Queen’s Umbrella
  • Original Title: 슈룹 (romanization: Shuroop)
  • Genre: Historical, Black comedy
  • No. of Episode: 16
  • Airing Date: 2022.10.15 ~ 2022.12.04
  • Airing Slot: Saturday – Sunday
  • Broadcasting Channel: tvN
  • International Distributor: Netflix
  • Starring: Kim Hye Soo, Kim Hae Sook, Choi Won Young, Kim Eui Sung
  • Director: Kim Hyung Sik
  • Screenwriter: Park Ba Ra
  • Highest Rating: TBA
  • Awards: TBA


‘Under the Queen’s Umbrella’ follows the story of hot-blooded Queen Hwaryeong (Kim Hye Soo) who deals not only with the palace’s affairs but also with her family. Although the queen is supposed to live with elegance and dignity, she “gives up” her grace to educate the troublemaker princes.

Under the Queen’s Umbrella Cast

the queens umbrella cast kim hye soo

Character: Queen Hwaryeong
Portrayed by: Kim Hye Soo
Kim Hye Soo’s notable works: Tazza (2006), The Thieves (2012), The Face Reader (2013), Signal (tvN/ 2016), Hyena (SBS/ 2020), Juvenile Justice (Netflix/ 2022)

the queens umbrella kim hae sook

Character: Queen Dowager
Portrayed by: Kim Hae Sook
Kim Hae Sook’s notable works: Wang’s Family (KBS2/ 2013), Mother of Mine (KBS2/ 2019), Hospital Playlist (tvN/ 2020~2021)

the queen's umbrella choi won young

Character: King Lee Ho
Portrayed by: Choi Won Young
Choi Won Young’s notable works: Twenty Again (tvN/ 2015), SKY Castle (JTBC/ 2018), Doctor Prisoner (KBS2/ 2019), Mystic Pop-up Bar (JTBC/ 2020)

Extended Cast

Chaerin as young Im Hwa Ryeong
Moon Sangmin as Grand Prince Seongnam
Yoon Sang Hyun as Grand Prince Muan
Yoo Seon Ho as Grand Prince Gyeseong
Park Ha Jun as Grand Prince Ilyeong
Ok Ja Yeon as Royal Consort Gwi In Hwang, later demoted to Royal Consort Sookwon
Kim Ga Eun as Royal Consort So Yong Tae
Woo Jun Won as Royal Consort Go
Kang Chan Hee as Prince Uiseong
Kim Min Gi as Prince Bogum
Moon Seong Hyun as Prince Simso
Kim Eui Sung as Chief State Councillor Hwang Won Hyeong
Jang Hyun Sung as Minister of War Yoon Soo Kwang
Oh Ye Ju as Yoon Cheongha
Jeon Hye Won as Cho Wol
Seo Yi Sook as Deposed Queen Yoon
Shin Soo Jeong as Royal Consort Kim
Song Young Ah as Royal Consort Choi
Lee Ha Young as Royal Consort Moon
Lee Hwa Kyum as Royal Consort Ok
Lee So Hee as Special Court Lady Park
Shin Ian as Prince Yeongmin
Hong Jae Min as Prince Hodong
Kim Young Jae as Chief Royal Secretary Min Seung Yoon
Lee Jung Eun as Court Lady Nam
Yoo Yeon as Court Lady Oh
Park Jun Myeon as Court Lady Shin
Kim Seung Soo as Park Kyung Woo
Han Dong Hee as Crown Princess Min
Seo Woo Jin as Grand Heir
Kim Jae Bum as Physician Kwon
Kwon Hae Hyo as Master Toji
Tae Won Seok as Seo Ham Deok
Yoon Seul as Mak Ryeo
Jo Ah Young as Min Seung Yoon’s eldest daughter

Cameo & Special Appearance

Bae Inhyuk as Crown Prince
Rain as a passerby
Ahn Yong Joon as the representative of Sungkyunkwan scholars

Character Relationship Chart

under the queen's umbrella character relationship chart cast

Original Soundtrack


Trailer Videos

Awards & Nominations



  • This will be Kim Hye Soo’s first period drama in 20 years after ‘Jang Hee Bin’.

What do you think?


Written by StumbledUpon99

Content AuthorQuiz MakerYears Of Membership

Leave a Reply

newjeans member profile new jeans


one dollar lawyer official poster cast synopsis

One Dollar Lawyer